top of page

Top 10 Helpful Tips for South Korea



If you're planning to study abroad in South Korea, these tips may help you prepare for what to anticipate. I hope these tips help!

1. The Charles Schwab debit card is convenient for withdrawing money.

  • ATM cash withdrawal fees are reimbursed on a monthly basis. In addition, there are no foreign-exchange transaction fees for purchases made with this debit card as well.

  • Not all places accept Discover, so this debit card was very helpful.

2. Bring omiyage from Hawai'i (gifts)

  • You will meet new friends along the way, and one of the best gifts would be souvenirs from home. I brought snacks and keychains, but I truly wish I brought more with me! These are perfect to give out during the holidays.

3. Explore Goshipages for accommodations near your school.

  • Goshiwons are similar to dorms, but are known to be smaller. The room I stayed in had walking space and my experience was positive, so it depends on the location. More information: https://goshipages.com/singlehousesinchon

4. Use Wise to transfer money

  • Since my accommodation required a deposit before arrival, I used a mobile app called “Wise” to transfer money to the landlord.

5. Prioritize activities according to the seasons

  • Plans are significantly impacted by the season. For outdoor activities such as picnics at the Han River or amusement parks, it’s recommended to prioritize them for summer or fall. Once the weather changes, it’ll be difficult to check the activity off your bucket list.

6. Cafe culture in Korea is saving a seat before buying a drink

  • It’s common for people to put their belongings on a table to save their spot. I mostly put my bag on the table without my wallet, but any item to mark your seat would suffice.

7. Bring or buy a portable charger

  • My phone battery drained more than usual while using Korea's SIM card. I bought my portable charger at Artbox to use for the whole duration of my trip.

8. Buy a Type F adaptor for charging your devices in South Korea

9. Bargain for a suitcase in Myeongdong

  • There are many suitcases on the streets of Myeongdong. I recommend bargaining the lowest price possible and slowly going up from there. Walking away as if you are no longer interested also works. If you struggle with Korean numbers, you can also use the calculator to show the desired price as well.

10. Pin desired locations on your map

  • Before being familiar with districts and neighborhoods, it’s helpful to pin locations rather than referring to a list of places you want to visit. That way, you can see which place is most convenient or nearby!


Recent Posts

See All

© 2022 tina's travel blog

bottom of page