top of page

Nami Island in the Fall & New Desserts



🍂 Nami Island Pt. 2


On Saturday, I went to Nami Island with Jessica, Sarah, Ben, and Duy. My friends and I visited this place previously at the beginning of the school year, but we decided to revisit and experience the seasonal changes. We all met up at 8am and took the train to our destination. Once we arrived in the area, we were starving and ate dakgalbi before going to the island. The restaurants on the island are very limited and the lines get long, so it’s highly recommended to eat before arriving on the island. After lunch, I went ziplining to get to the island. The cost to zipline was approximately $40 including the ride back on a ferry. I made great memories of this day as we spent time exploring the island and eating desserts. Since this was my second time, I did less walking and more activities such as bike riding.


I never knew then, but visiting Nami Island for the fall season is all about timing. We visited the island on October 29th, and the leaves were incredibly beautiful. However, I noticed that the leaves started to fall a week after, so it’s important to plan accordingly since the fall leaves change very quickly overnight.


🍨 Baskin Robbins Brown


On a sunny day, I visited Baskin Robbin Brown with Sarah and Ben in Gangnam. We decided to check this place out because it’s the only BR Brown in the world that offers 100 ice cream flavors. Instead of getting singular scoops of ice cream, my friends and I ordered chocolate fondue with various ice cream flavors. This was delicious and I hope I’ll be back for more.


🍜 Exploring Campus Food


While eating out at restaurants is always nice, eating on campus still provides the same nutrients at a lower cost. The Yonsei cafeteria splits various food areas by culture such as Korean, Japanese, Chinese, and Western. There are also bakeries, a Vietnamese restaurant, Baskin Robbins, and more. I noticed that I always eat omurice, so I decided to eat more food from the Korean menu such as spicy kalbi soup. This was approximately $2-3 USD. I did not purchase a meal plan, but I do mostly eat on campus for lunch due to convenience (not on a daily basis). Most meals on campus range from 3000 to 5000 won ($1-4 USD).


Notes

  • It’s mid-November and the weather is about 50-60 degrees Fahrenheit. While the number might seem cold compared to Hawaii weather, I noticed that I usually just need to wear heat-tech underneath my clothes. Due to this, I most likely won’t buy new winter clothes until the weather drops.

  • People don’t hold doors in South Korea as I was previously told upon my study abroad, but some people did hold a door for me and that was a surprise

  • The Korea Herald is my go-to source for daily news! I also found out about Seoul Fashion Week from the news coverage.












Recent Posts

See All

© 2022 tina's travel blog

bottom of page